Santa Claus is Coming to Town – Courtesy of the Round Table!

Fresh from a superb fireworks display, which raised over £2,000 for local community events and good causes, the Currie, Balerno and District Round Table (CBDRT) is bringing Santa to a street near you!

Once again, Santa, the intrepid Rudolph driving the sleigh-buggy, and the band of elves will be calling on the residents of Currie, Balerno, Juniper Green, Bonaly and Baberton.  CBDRT has been bringing Santa to the local area every year for over 35 years, with Round Table volunteers and helpers putting in many hours of work to make it happen.  If you think you could help out too, please see the contact details at the end of this article.

The Santa runs are one of the Round Table’s three big community events each year, along with the fireworks and the beer festival, all of which are staffed entirely be volunteers.  The proceeds from Santa’s collections will help support good causes and community events, recent examples of which include Canalside Day Centre in Wester Hailes, local Scouts and Guides, and the Breakfast Club at Currie High School.

The schedule for Santa’s visits is below, and is available on www.cbdrt.com, but check Twitter (@cbdrt and #cbdrtsanta) for any last-minute updates.

Saturday 7th December, from 5pm: Currie East

Sunday 8th December, from 4pm: Bonaly (1st route)

Monday 9th December, from 6pm: Juniper Green

Tuesday 10th December, from 6pm: Johnsburn

Wednesday 11th December, from 6pm: Currievale

Thursday 12th December, from 6pm: Wester Currie

Saturday 14th December, from 5pm: Currie Central

Sunday 15th December, from 4pm: Baberton

Monday 16th December, from 6pm: Currie Castle/ Cherry Tree

Tuesday 17th December, from 6pm: Bonaly (2nd route)

Wednesday 18th December, from 6pm: Pilmuir/ Ravelrig

Saturday 21st December, from 4pm: Balerno (Bells area)

Can you lend Santa a hand on one of the runs? Do you want to release your inner elf? Joining in with a run is a fantastic way to help the local community and put smiles on the faces of local residents of all ages!  Please go to www.cbdrt.com to contact us and find out more about Santa, or about CBDRT, their events, the causes they support, and how to join.